Securing The First Win Since 1980

Matthew Mills, Staff Writter

   After a roller coaster of events on Mon, Jan. 10 the Georgia Bulldogs came out on top against the Alabama Crimson Tide with the final score of 33-18. In a rematch against The Tide for their first College Football National Championship since 1980, the bulldogs avenged their loss from the SEC championship. Confetti rained down as fans chanted. “Kirby! Kirby!”

   With no touchdowns in the entire first half, this game was looking as close as ever.

   In the last 2 minutes of the 3rd quarter, the first touchdown was scored by the Bulldogs. 

   James Cook made a 67-yard run to get the Bulldogs into the red zone. A facemask penalty and three plays later, Georgia was in the lead 13-9. With 10 minutes left on the clock, Alabama made a rush and found Cameron Latu for a 3-yard rush, putting Alabama up 18-13. With 8:09 left on the clock, the Bulldogs had a one-point lead after they failed the 2-point conversion. 

   In the last minute of the game, Georgia cornerback Kelee Ringo intercepted Heisman Trophy winner quarterback Bryce Young’s pass and returned it 79 yards for a pick-six. Ringo made history with the longest pick-six in championship game history. This gave them enough of a lead to clamp down on Alabama’s offense securing their spot as champions. Alabama’s winning streak in their rivalry with Georgia which began in 2008, has come to an end.  “I’ve never been around a group of players that really wanted it so bad and wouldn’t be denied,” Georgia head coach Kirby Smart said. “I told the guys in the locker room, just take a picture of this.”

   It was truly an amazing game. it had everybody at the game and at home on the edge of their seats. After a long 40 years,  Georgia Bulldogs are the national champion again.